Simio Forum

Welcome to the Simio Forum

Welcome to the Simio Forum! Experience the full experience of the forum by becoming a Simio Insider! You must be an Insider to post on any forum!

Click_Here_button.png

GFleurquin

Server/Workstation & batch operation

Hello,

The model that I want to do is to treat N entities at a time. I am looking for a simple solution because:

- The workstation allows a batch operation but an entering entity is considered as X elements.

- Servers can have a capacity higher than 1 but the process is begun as soon as one entity enters the server (and so it is not N entities at the same time).

The solutions I can see are:

- Making a virtual batch parent for my N entities before entering my server or workstation (visually heavy, harder to extract useful indicators, but it is working!).

- Making a process that allows entities to be processed in a server with capacity "N" only when N entities are in its input buffer. Until now, as I am new to Simio, I have not been able to implement this solution as I could not well link the size of the queue of the input buffer with the processing action of the server/workstation. But it seems a good alternative.

Are there other simpler solutions that I have not seen (an option of servers or workstations, a simple process...)?

Thanks (I hope I have been clear enough!)

G. Fleurquin

When you say "Making a virtual batch parent ", perhaps you have already done something like this,

but I just created a very simple object that merged a Combiner and a Separator. I exposed just a few properties and rerouted some "members" to become "parents" so you don't have to worry about the distinction.

One input node, one output node, one processing time.

Enjoy, if it helps you.

Attached model created in Sprint 68.

SimpleBatchServer.spfx