Temporarily Block Paths

Emiliano

I have been utilizing SIMIO for a couple of months, but I am still relatively new to some of the features. One of the problems that I have recently encountered in my simulation is entities taking a path even when the receiving node (a separator) has an off shift rule. Specifically, I determine the availability of the separators based on 5 minute intervals with a TimeIndexedRow table reference. 

The attached image accurately represents my dilemma while simulating an airport checkpoint. The passengers are first processed in Server 1 and subsequently proceed into the paths leading to either separator 1 or separator 2, depending on which conveyor is available (has a value of 1) to process their luggage. In a specific scenario, lets assume separator 2 has a value of 0 meaning it is in the off shift position. When I simulate only one conveyor open, the passengers sometimes either take the inactive separator path and move back to server 1 to take the other route, or move back and forth the link until the separator becomes active again. Is there a way to block the path leading to that separator, for that 5-minute interval when separator 2 has a value of 0?

Perhaps this could be done with an add-on process trigger, however I have not been able to formulate one. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

image.png.740ccaeecbe8d2907ef2292b9c080f4d.png

You could put the two (or more) separator input nodes on a list and then at the Server output node, select from the list of separators - then you could use the Selection Condition property to select between those that are actually available, using either a table value or something like 'Candidate.Node.AssociatedStation.Capacity' expression checking the status of the separator capacity (if offshift). 

On 4/29/2019 at 10:09 AM, CWatson said: