Simio Forum

Shipping & Receiving && Material Handling Simulation

Hey all,

I am a novice Simio user who is desiring to get the ball rolling on some real-world applications of this software. I am desiring to correctly & sufficiently simulate arriving inbound truckloads of material, exporting outbound finished product, and also the material handling process that organizes material & finished product in inventory. All of this would be focused on this 1 plant. Any help/direction for my situation described below will be invaluable to me.

Special Case Info:

-Arrival truckloads are tentatively scheduled a few days in advance. Empty exporting finished product trucks are tentatively scheduled for loading a few days in advance as well. I know I would probably utilize some kind of Table to simulate these occurences. I would want there to be variability in inbound&outbound truck arrivals to the plant.

-The material handling process is done by operators on forklifts (I know a specialized intelligent object Vehicle would be used to simulate a forklift)

-I am wanting to simulate the actual process of unloading and loading trucks (i.e., it initially takes a shorter period of time to unload a material truck... but towards the finishing of a truck the forklift has to go a farther distance to transport material)

-Most material comes in on pallets

-Most trucks can hold stacks of 1-2 pallets of material side-by-side (by a length of 11 pallets long)... for a capable volume of 44ish pallets per truck

(Furthest inside trailer) Trailer Top View....................(Tail Bumper)

|*____ (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((| Truck Dock

|*|Pal|... x11 ...((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((|

|*|___|(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((|

|*____((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((|

|*|Pal|... x11 ...(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((|