search entities in the queue

General Simio discussions. THIS IS *NOT* A GOOD PLACE FOR SUPPORT QUESTIONS.
To limit spam this and all Public Forums have very limited ability to attach files. We recommend that support issues and more technical topics be initiated inside one of the Simio Insider (SI) forums below where you can attach your model and see example solutions. See above Welcome forum to join Simio Insiders.
Post Reply
IreneMarchiori
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:38 am

search entities in the queue

Post by IreneMarchiori » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:50 am

Hi,
I have a problem with entities in the queue. The process is in the MemberInputBuffer of a Combiner and I have to create different materials for each entities in the queue. So I put in the process a search step searching for entities and then other steps (assign, delay etc) to go to other tables to create the materials related to each specific entity.
The problem is in the first search because in “collection type" I have written “entity population” and in “entityType” there is the reference to a table with all the entities in the system. I need to search only the entities in the queue of MemberInputBuffer (and now the steps search all entities in the system) but I'm not able to find the right "match condition" to restrict the search only to the queue. Can you help me?

thank you
Best Regards

Irene

CWatson
Simio Team Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:34 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Contact:

Re: search entities in the queue

Post by CWatson » Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:01 am

In the Search step, if you are trying to search the entities within the member input buffer, you should have the Collection Type set to 'QueueState' and then the Queue State Name set to 'CombinerName.MemberInputBuffer.Contents'. I don't think that queue is automatically in the pull down list, but you can type the name in directly. This will then search only the entities in that queue and provide a token exit out of the found representing each (given you set the Limit property to Infinity to search for all entities in the queue and not just the first one).
Christine Watson
Simio LLC

IreneMarchiori
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:38 am

Re: search entities in the queue

Post by IreneMarchiori » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:02 am

thank you ..
I create a status label with the expression "CombinerName.MemberInputBuffer.Contents" and it shows me the right number of entities in the queue, but in the trace i see that search step finds 0 item and the process doesn't work:(

CWatson
Simio Team Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:34 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Contact:

Re: search entities in the queue

Post by CWatson » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:31 pm

If you'd like to attach a copy of your model, we can take a look or you could send it to support@simio.com.
Christine Watson
Simio LLC

IreneMarchiori
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:38 am

Re: search entities in the queue

Post by IreneMarchiori » Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:19 am

hi,

maybe i have found a solution for the problem...i have created a new queue before the member input buffer and the search step searches for entities in this queue and then entities are transfered to MemberIputBuffer.

IreneMarchiori
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:38 am

Re: search entities in the queue

Post by IreneMarchiori » Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:12 am

Hi,

I have to register the moment when a workstation stops to work entities? How do that? ..I'm not able to find the right expression for the state variable

Thank you

Post Reply