Process: discriminates the entity between all the others

General Simio discussions. THIS IS *NOT* A GOOD PLACE FOR SUPPORT QUESTIONS.
To limit spam this and all Public Forums have very limited ability to attach files. We recommend that support issues and more technical topics be initiated inside one of the Simio Insider (SI) forums below where you can attach your model and see example solutions. See above Welcome forum to join Simio Insiders.
Post Reply
vavei5
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:24 pm

Process: discriminates the entity between all the others

Post by vavei5 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 9:12 am

Hello,

I have a server that can handle different entities (not simultaneously).

I want a process to take place only when the server is processing a specific entity (for example: the entity A).

Is there a step which discriminates the entity between all the others ?

Or is there another way to do what I want ?

Thanks

CWatson
Simio Team Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:34 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Contact:

Re: Process: discriminates the entity between all the others

Post by CWatson » Thu Oct 13, 2016 9:23 am

If the EntityA is an instance of ModelEntity, for example, the model contains entities of type EntityA, EntityB, and EntityC, then you could have a Decide step as the first step in the process that says Conditional "Is.EntityA" and only that type of entity will go out the True exit and perform the steps following, while others will exit the False and if you do nothing, the process will not continue for those other entity tokens.

If EntityA is an actual specific entity, such as EntityA.139, for example, and you somehow know earlier than Server processing which entity it is, you could use a State (Definitions window) of type Object Reference / Entity to store the exact entity and use that within the Decide step into the process.
Christine Watson
Simio LLC

vavei5
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:24 pm

Re: Process: discriminates the entity between all the others

Post by vavei5 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:19 am

I find the answer.

For those who want to know the answer.

You create a decide step and the condition based is : Entity.Population.Name==EntityName.Name

For example if I what to identifie the entity A : Entity.Population.Name==A.Name

Post Reply