How can workstation choose entities on priority basis

General Simio discussions. THIS IS *NOT* A GOOD PLACE FOR SUPPORT QUESTIONS.
To limit spam this and all Public Forums have very limited ability to attach files. We recommend that support issues and more technical topics be initiated inside one of the Simio Insider (SI) forums below where you can attach your model and see example solutions. See above Welcome forum to join Simio Insiders.
Post Reply
CSteinlicht
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:38 pm

How can workstation choose entities on priority basis

Post by CSteinlicht » Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:20 pm

How can I set up a workstation to choose entiites on basis of color. My workstation is getting inputs from 5 different Sources that produce a different color. Each color represents a priority level. Later on I want to calculate the individual process time of each colored entities in experiment.

Santosh

JBeltran
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 11:48 am
Location: Montpellier, France
Contact:

Re: How can workstation choose entities on priority basis

Post by JBeltran » Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:23 am

By "choose entiites on basis of color" do you mean that your workstation process times are different based on the "type" (color, a sting variable) of the entity being processed?


If affirmative, you could use a Math.If expression to determine process times for a short number of cases, or a table if you think that the number of different types ( = colors) of entities could be high.

There are some Simbits that could be useful to illustrate this case, you may want to have a look at the one called "Discrete lookup table" .
Joaquim BELTRAN PEREZ
j.beltranperez@avantsim.com

dsturrock
Simio Team Member
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: Sewickley, PA USA
Contact:

Re: How can workstation choose entities on priority basis

Post by dsturrock » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:29 pm

You might also look at the SimBit WorkstationWithSequenceDependentSetup that does something similar to your request.

If your color simply illustrates a priority, then you should probably just use the internal ModelEntity.Priority state as it was intended and perhaps just set the entity's Current Symbol Index to ModelEntity.Priority.
Dave Sturrock
VP Operations, Simio LLC

Post Reply