Transporting specific entities with multiple vehicles

General Simio discussions. THIS IS *NOT* A GOOD PLACE FOR SUPPORT QUESTIONS.
To limit spam this and all Public Forums have very limited ability to attach files. We recommend that support issues and more technical topics be initiated inside one of the Simio Insider (SI) forums below where you can attach your model and see example solutions. See above Welcome forum to join Simio Insiders.
Post Reply
15700771
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:14 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Transporting specific entities with multiple vehicles

Post by 15700771 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:24 am

Good day,

I am using Simio for my final year project and was hoping to get some advice with regard to transporting entities with multiple vehicles.

At each transfer node one can only specify the transporter type as “Specific” or “From list”. I therefore created a list containing the specific vehicles needed to transport the entities. I have tried numerous methods but failed to assign the vehicles to specific entities once the entities are created. I therefore need to use a certain property of a created entity as a decision basis for assigning the entity to a certain vehicle once it is created.

Hope you can help :) .

Kind Regards,

Rhynard

dsturrock
Simio Team Member
Posts: 1455
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: Sewickley, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Transporting specific entities with multiple vehicles

Post by dsturrock » Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:52 am

You can add a state to the entity to hold this. See this SimBit for some ideas: RequestRideFromSameTransporter
Dave Sturrock
VP Operations, Simio LLC

15700771
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:14 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Transporting specific entities with multiple vehicles

Post by 15700771 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:11 am

Just what I was looking for. Thank you!

MEagar
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:56 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Transporting specific entities with multiple vehicles

Post by MEagar » Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:54 pm

CHeck out the SimBit "Select Specific Vehicle"...
Mark

www.masterschedulingsolutions.com

Post Reply